Varicoceles

What is a varicocele?

What is a varicocele?

Affecting close to 20 percent of all men, varicoceles are a very common condition in which the testicular veins become enlarged. Patients often experience no symptoms, and the swelling is usually harmless and does not require treatment. However, some patients feel pain or heaviness in the testicles, and the disorder may impact fertility.

 

What should I know about varicoceles?

Varicoceles occur when the veins along the spermatic cord do not allow sufficient blood flow from the testes to the rest of the body and therefore become dilated, much like a varicose vein in the leg.

In more than 80 percent of cases, varicoceles affect the left side, with varying degrees of severity.

Varicocele schéma

What are the symptoms of varicoceles?

When blood pools in the testicular veins, the resulting swelling can cause the following symptoms:

  •  Pain in the testes, usually more noticeable on the side affected by the varicocele
  •  A sensation of heaviness, which intensifies at the end of the day or in hot weather
  •  Shrinkage of the testes

Some varicoceles are asymptomatic and are only discovered during a fertility evaluation following an abnormal semen analysis result or during a routine physical exam.

What are the risk factors for varicoceles?

It is not clear what causes varicoceles.

If a varicocele is detected in an adult aged 30 or above, this generally rules out the possibility of a kidney tumor. Varicoceles can occur at any age. 40 percent of infertile men have a varicocele, but it is impossible to predict whether an adolescent with a varicocele will suffer from impaired fertility. 

In asymptomatic adolescents presenting a varicocele, either medical monitoring with particular attention to semen analysis results or immediate treatment may be proposed, depending on the grade and psychological impact of the varicocele.

In symptomatic adolescents with a high-grade varicocele, abnormal semen analysis result or shrinkage of the testicle(s), immediate embolization treatment is recommended.

How are varicoceles diagnosed at the American Hospital of Paris?

An initial diagnosis may be made based on the history and physical examination of the patient, leading the doctor to order a testicular Doppler ultrasound.  The ultrasound, performed during the consultation or by one of the Hospital’s sonographers or vascular specialists, will determine whether a varicocele is present and evaluate its severity and impact on testicle size while eliminating other options in a differential diagnosis.

Varicocele grades range from 0 to 3:

  • Grade 0: the varicocele cannot be seen or felt, and can only be detected by ultrasound
  • Grade I: the varicocele is not visible but can be felt after a Valsalva maneuver
  • Grade II: the varicocele is not visible but can be felt when the patient is standing 
  • Grade III: the varicocele can be seen and felt without a Valsalva maneuver

What treatments for varicoceles are available at the American Hospital of Paris?

There are no effective natural treatments for varicoceles. In patients with symptoms or an abnormal semen analysis result, treatment is indicated, the least invasive and most effective of which is percutaneous embolization.

This minimally invasive, non-surgical interventional radiology technique consists in inserting a catheter into a vein in the arm, guiding it to the enlarged spermatic vein and occluding the vein using various methods.

The American Hospital of Paris team is one of the few with expertise in the full range of embolization techniques. This allows our doctors to choose the solution most appropriate to each situation based on the patient's anatomy, the size of the varicocele and the embolic agent selected.

Embolization requires only local anesthesia and a short stay in ambulatory care (half a day). Patients can return home just one hour after the procedure. The scar is the same as that of a routine blood draw.

Make an appointment

with our interventional radiology unit
Learn more

Le traitement des varicocèles par embolisation en images

Le traitement des varicocèles par embolisation en images
American Hospital of Paris
2022-04-20T10:37:11

Varicocèles

Qu'est ce qu'une varicocèle ?

Qu'est ce qu'une varicocèle ? 

Les varicocèles sont une pathologie très fréquente, qui touche près de 20% des hommes. Il s'agit d'une dilatation des veines testiculaires souvent asymptomatique qui, dans la plupart des cas ne sont pas dangereuses et ne nécessite pas de traitement. Toutefois certains patients souffrent de douleurs ou de pesanteur testiculaire, ainsi que d'une atteinte de la fertilité.

 

Que faut-il savoir sur les varicocèles ?

Ce sont des dilatations variqueuses (varices) des veines du cordon spermatique, dans leur trajet intra-scrotal (dans les bourses) ou intra-corporel.

La varicocèle est liée à une incontinence des veines spermatiques, qui empêche ces dernières d’assurer un retour suffisant du sang veineux dans la circulation générale. Dans plus de 80% des cas, c’est le côté gauche qui est atteint, avec différents grades de gravité.

Varicocele schéma

Quels sont les symptômes des varicocèles ?

La stagnation du sang dans les varices est responsable des symptômes suivants :

  •  Des douleurs testiculaires, souvent latéralisées du côté de la varicocèle
  •  Des pesanteurs, volontiers majorée en fin de journée, ou lors des épisodes de fortes chaleurs
  •  Une diminution du volume testiculaire

La varicocèle peut également être asymptomatique ; elle est alors découverte lors d’un bilan d’infertilité prescrit pour explorer des anomalies du spermogramme, ou lors d’un examen de routine.

 

           

Quels sont les facteurs de risques des varicocèles ?

Les causes de la varicocèle sont méconnues.

L’apparition de varicocèles chez un adulte de plus de 30 ans doit faire éliminer une tumeur du rein. Cette pathologie fréquente peut survenir à n’importe quel âge. On la retrouve chez 40% des hommes infertile bien qu’il soit toujours impossible de savoir parmi les adolescents avec varicocèle ceux qui auront une diminution de leur fertilité. 

Chez les adolescents asymptomatiques avec varicocèle, on peut proposer, en fonction du grade et du retentissement psychologique, soit une surveillance clinique avec surveillance des spermogrammes, soit un traitement d’emblée.

Chez les adolescents symptomatiques, avec varicocèle de grade élevé, altération du spermogramme ou diminution du volume testiculaire, un traitement d’emblée par embolisation est conseillé.

Comment est réalisé le diagnostic des varicocèles au sein de l’Hôpital Américain de Paris ? 

Le diagnostic est évoqué à l’interrogatoire et à l’examen clinique, conduisant le médecin prescripteur à demander une échographie avec doppler testiculaire. L’échographie réalisée lors de la consultation ou par un confrère échographiste/angiologue confirmera ou non la présence d’une varicocèle, permettra de grader le degré d’incontinence, d’évaluer le retentissement sur le volume testiculaire et d’éliminer certains diagnostics différentiels.

Il existe 4 grades

  • Grade 0 : varicocèle non visible, non palpable et détectable uniquement par échographie
  • Grade I : varicocèle palpable après manoeuvre de Valsalva mais non visible
  • Grade II : varicocèle non visible mais palpable, se remplissant par gravité en position debout
  • Grade III : varicocèle visible et palpable sans manœuvre de Vasalva

Quels sont les différents traitements mis en place au sein de l’Hôpital Américain de Paris pour traiter les varicocèles ?

Il n’existe pas de traitement naturel efficace. Chez les patients symptomatiques, ou présentant une anomalie du spermogramme, il existe une indication de traitement. Le traitement le moins invasif et le plus efficace est l’embolisation percutanée.

Cette technique non chirurgicale de radiologie interventionnelle, dite « mini-invasive » consiste à insérer un cathéter directement dans une veine du bras, puis naviguer par les veines jusqu’à la veine spermatique dilatée, et la boucher à l’aide de différents procédés.

L’équipe de l’hôpital américain est une des rares équipes à maitriser l’ensemble des techniques d’embolisation lui permettant de choisir la plus adaptée à chaque situation (dépendante de l’anatomie, du volume de la varicocèle et de l’agent d’embolisation choisi).

L’embolisation est une intervention pratiquée sous anesthésie locale, sur une courte hospitalisation ambulatoire (sur une demi-journée). Le patient peut regagner son domicile seulement 1 heures après la fin de l’intervention. La cicatrice sur la peau est semblable à celle d’une prise de sang habituelle au laboratoire.

PRENDRE RENDEZ-VOUS

DANS NOTRE UNITÉ DE RADIOLOGIE INTERVENTIONELLE
En savoir plus

Le traitement des varicocèles par embolisation en images

Le traitement des varicocèles par embolisation en images
American Hospital of Paris
2022-01-6T11:56:20